Hydrofoil Supported Sailing Cat

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Hatchman, Jan 23, 2005.

1. Hatchman

Hatchman Junior Member

I'm doing my thesis on hydrofoil supported sailing catamarans and as a starting point, i'm looking for some lines drawings of typical hull shape for around a 40 foot racer cruiser. Anybody got any suggestions where I might find such drawings on the net (free to download) They don't need to be high tech, just a fair representation of a typical 40' racer cruiser.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Hatchman

2. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Guest

Hydrofoil spprted cat

Just out of curosity ,why did you choose a cat for your hydrofoil platform?

3. tspeer

tspeer Senior Member

Not free off the web, but I've found Kurt Hughes' catalog to be a good starting point. It doesn't have complete lines drawings, but it does have profile and typical sections for a wide range of designs.

John Shuttleworth's outstanding article on the http://Dogstar 50 has a great discussion of crusing cat cross section design. It, too, has profile shape and maximum cross section. Shuttleworth's article on multihull seaworthiness covers how to arrange the buoyancy as a function of heave so as to control the trim, and this has a huge influence on the hull shaping. His catalog has an article on the design tradeoffs in mulithull sections and statistical data on a large number of cruising and multihull designs.

Since minimum wetted area and not form stability is the driving influence on multihull shapes, you can pretty well determine the lines yourself by taking the product of the profile and typical section shape.

4. Hatchman

Hatchman Junior Member

Thanx 4 your pompt response. :)