Scantling rules for stitch & tape

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Baycat, Dec 17, 2004.

1. Baycat

Baycat Ric

I am looking at Stitch & tape technique for a new design of approx 24-26 feet was wondering if there was a book that provided 'scantling' sizes for this
    ( for example does Dave Gerrs - (westlawn) book provide this ) this seemed a better way to go than emperically applying the thicknesses from someone elses plans. I am not an engineer so would need information in a form that suits the layman.

Is there a previous thread or can somebody help thanks.

2. Dutch Peter

Dutch Peter Senior Member

Baycat,

I don't believe the scantlings will be very different using the "stitch and glue"-methode or an other contruction methode, provided all methodes are using the same construction material.
    For this lenght of vessel there is also not really a "rule" or formula to calculate the construction, look for similar designs of the same construction material over a range of lenghts. Based on that you can make a good assesment of the scantlings you need.

Good luck.

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Dave Gerr's book has that info.

4. Baycat

Baycat Ric

Thanks Gonzo - now just to get a copy here in Australia - snail mail thru the local book retailers I guess, not quite ready to enrol in the course yet, or do I need to enrol to make sense of the book? I do have a degree in architecture but there's not much engineering in that.

Thanks Dutch Peter I did look at the option of purchasing say an Arch Davis or Bateau design of a similiar sized boat and using those principles in the new design but it seemed a bit like guessing to me

thanks again

5. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

The scantling rules are very straightforward. You enter the dimension of the boat and it gives a scantling number. You then enter this number for the dimension of every part of the boat.

6. Baycat

Baycat Ric

Gonzo - thanks again