Scale Effect at Low Reynolds Numbers

Discussion in 'Hydrodynamics and Aerodynamics' started by Earl Boebert, Nov 8, 2016.

1. Earl Boebert

Earl Boebert Senior Member

I am looking for references that might help me gain insight into the following problem. I'm looking at two model yacht classes, one approximately half the size of the other. Both classes are development classes constrained by a box rule. Both classes are mature and have undergone type forming. (Marblehead and RG65 for the curious.)

What I'm studying is whether and how the relationship between aerodynamic and hydrodynamic forces change as you scale down in this limited Reynolds Number domain. I have most of the standard references from Manfred Curry through Marchaj, AYRS pamphlets and other miscellany and have googled fairly intensely.

I have a suspicion (or hope) that somewhere out there are obscure papers, probably student theses, that have touched on this problem. If anybody knows of any such I would deeply appreciate pointers to them.

Cheers,

Earl

2. Doug Halsey

Doug Halsey Senior Member

3. Earl Boebert

Thanks. I was unaware of this.

Cheers,

Earl

4. Doug Halsey

5. kilocharlie2

kilocharlie2 Junior Member

Earl -

Do make a call to California Institute of Technology's bookstore. Many titles with chapters involving Reynold's numbers.

-KC

6. Doug Halsey

The responses to the original post have, so far, been limited to finding sources for general information on Reynolds number effects, and haven't addressed how the relationships between the aero & hydro forces change.

I would think that the hydro forces would be more strongly impacted than the aero forces. Both aero & hydro Reynolds numbers would be cut in half from scaling the model down, but the hydro Reynolds number would be reduced further because of the loss of boat speed. (The apparent wind speed would change too, but I'm assuming this would be by a smaller amount.)