1947 Snipe Restoration

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by mrector, Mar 25, 2011.

1. mrector

mrector Junior Member

Hello All,

I'm in the process of restoring a Wooden 1947 Mills Snipe (see my thread:1947 Snipe Woody Restoration). I'm at the point where most of the structural repairs are done (will post some new photo's soon) and starting to think about turning the boat over to fiberglass the hull.

I'm a fairly proficient woodworker but have no experience with fiberglass application. Here are a few questions that I have:

1) For this 15.5 ft hull what weight of fiberglass cloth should I use?

2) What is the best way to estimate the amount of glass cloth and epoxy to order?

3) After the glass has been applied what is the best way (materials and method) to fair out the hull?

4) What type of paint should I use to finish the hull with after glassing?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
    Mike

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

You don't need to apply 'glass fabrics to your Snipe, nor is it especially desirable to do so. This is because it makes repairs and possible maintenance issues much more complex.

On the other hand 'glassing the boat will improve abrasion resistance some and improve water proofness.

If you elect to 'glass the boat you don't need much (weight), so 4 or 6 ounce cloth is fine. To determine the amount of fabric you need check with your supplier and see what they offer in 4 and 6 ounces widths and order enough to cover the exterior of the boat. It's unlikely you'll find fabric that will cover the whole bottom so you'll over lap at the centerline with two pieces. This usually mean 11 yards (5.5 yards per side) for a Snipe. Average costs for 6 ounce will be around $6 a yard for 50" wide material. So, less then $70 bucks for your boat.