New here and new to boats period. Suggestions.

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by Austin11C, Apr 17, 2017.

1. Austin11C

Austin11C New Member

Hey guys. I'm completely new to boating. I've been on a few boats but it's been years. I fish a lot in East TN and I'm getting kinda burnt out on bank fishing. There's only so many good spots you can get to. I'm very interested in getting a small boat so me (5'10- 200 lbs) and my brother (5'6-160) or someone of similar size can go fish. I've seen on some of the post here it depends on what kind of water it will be on. Mostly Norris lake in Norris Tn if anyone is familiar with the lake. And also Clinch river(which is the river below Norris Dam. And maybe some small ponds here and there. I'm idealing looking for a used boat because I'm on a budget close to 1000$ I've seen some nice looking used ones on Craigslist but I have no idea what kind is ideal for my purposes. V-hull, semi v, or flat bottom? I want at least a 14' and since I have limited experience on boats I am looking for something somewhat stable. I've read that flat bottoms are good for calm waters but not choppy water. Idk what you guys consider calm or choppy. The river I'll be fishing isn't an extremely swift river but I'm not sure if it would be considered choppy. It will just be 2 people 90%of the time with MAYBE a 3rd person if the boat allows.. Any info that can help you guys help me I can give I'm just not sure what matters. On a side not I also would like to put a small casting deck on the front. I want to keep the low center of gravity so it will be no higher than the average bench seat so once I get a boat I'm sure I'll have questions for those with experience with that. Hopefully someone can help, thanks guys!

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum.