New project need help.

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by deepdwn8, Nov 17, 2008.

1. deepdwn8

deepdwn8 Junior Member

Hi all,

My name is Dan Danvers, im a high school student in Florida. My friend and I have been pondering a sailboat project for years now and finally in our drafting/design class we got a break to finally put our ideas together.

We've come out with a design that slightly resembles the Nokia 18ft Skiff and other skiffs like them, (the laser 49er to be exact). I've drawn basic plans for the boat being sure to keep everything symmetrical especially because i know I'm using the wrong software (auto CAD architectural desktop).

other than having the dream of building and sailing a boat of our own design we have almost no clue what to do next. Personally I'm interested in graduating college and going into the field of yacht design. So this project is very serious to me.

Any help would be appreciated.
    Thank you
    -Dan Danvers

2. Stumble

Stumble Senior Member

If the project is about building a boat I would highly advice building a small, relatively simple boat with pre-made plans. This will give you a grounding in what exacally you will need to expect for a more complicated design, particularly pointing out where you are likely to run into problems on a future build.

If the project is to design your own boat, then build it. I would recommend you build a small, relatively simple boat with pre-made plans. Ya, I know it is the same advice, but the theory still holds. Starting with both designing and building a boat is a huge undertaking, plus since you will be the first to ever build it there is noone available to help you when (not if) you run into problems.

I would look around for a sailing scow design that would at least allow you to build a fast planing hull (not as fast as the 49er though) so when you are done you have a boat that you will want to sail.

3. deepdwn8

deepdwn8 Junior Member

Thank you