Sailing Dory build with Clark Craft plans

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Pirate Lowe, Sep 20, 2009.

1. Pirate Lowe

Pirate Lowe Junior Member

I'm new here, this is only my second thread. To prevent from taking over the first thread I moved here.

I have over 20 years experience as a Tool & Die maker, Machinist, CNC programmer/Operator. I also have Auto CAD and CAD/CAM experience. I have been building wood projects for the last year. I perform at living history events as a 1720's Pirate.

I have decided to build a 18' Sailing Dory with Clark Craft plans to use at some of these events. This will be my first boat. I chose the Dory so five or six of us can use it at a time, its stability and ease of construction. It will be primarily oar powered with the mast (s) added later. 1/2" side and a 3/4" bottom.

Has anyone here used Clark Craft plans before?

I was going to use SS screws or Slicone Bronze to hold everything together. Screws will be left in. I was going to apply a layer of fiberglass cloth and two coats of epoxy to the exterior hull. Inside and out with epoxy paint. This way, I could use construction grade PW. If I use the more expensive Marine PW I can forego the full fiberglass and epoxy treatment. I don't care if it only last 5 or 6 years.

The boat would be used maybe a dozen times a year in bays and harbors in coastal SC. It will be kept in a shed when not in use.

I came here BEFORE I started to do research and get advice to prevent wasting materials and money.

2. Clinton B Chase

Clinton B Chase Senior Member

Dory

I can share some advice. I design and build boats professionally. I just completed a dory design for a customer who starts building it this week. There are more ways to construct a dory than any other boat, which is part of the fun.