Decking below waterline?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by blueheaven, Mar 23, 2011.

1. blueheaven

blueheaven Junior Member

Just want to say I've been designing a boat for a few months and just came across boatdesign.net. What a great forum.

My question: I'm designing a modified V scow intended for generally gentle surf in salt water. Screw and glue construction with a glass covered hull. I've attached a simple starboard sketch for reference. I'm emphasizing a low cg to maybe make better use of the sun roof in the future. Thus want to set my cabin decking as low as the frame tops. However this puts the decking about 4 inches below my calculated waterline (loaded). Is this a bad idea? I plan to have one each electrical and manual bilge pumps.

I suppose I understand drainage will be an issue. However, cabin is sealed with water resistant doors, and as I said, she is not intended for rough water use. All hull surfaces inside and out liberally covered with epoxy.

Any comments appreciated.

2. blueheaven

blueheaven Junior Member

sorry forgot attachment

attachment included here

Attached Files:

3. Lister

Lister Previous Member

I will raise the whole structure to have the deck higher than the waterline. That way you don't care if its raining and the boat is unattended, the drainage will be through the scuppers. it worth it for practical purpose beside safety.
    Never ever rely on a electrical pump, it is one of the main reason a boat sink.
    But it is IMHO
    Lister

4. blueheaven

blueheaven Junior Member

I thought about that. But isn't a sailboat (inside) cabin deck essentially below water line? (I really want to minimize roll-over potential)

5. TeddyDiver

TeddyDiver Gollywobbler

Cabin sole.. yes, go for it :)

6. messabout

messabout Senior Member