Help Finding Lines Plans

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by EngineerGirl, Jan 24, 2012.

1. EngineerGirl

EngineerGirl Junior Member

Hello! New here. I am taking a naval architecture course for my engineering major, and my teacher asked us to find an 'interesting hull' for a future hydrostatics assignment. I can choose any hull I want (I want a simplistic hull!). In addition to the body plan, I need the following information:
    1. reference length or station spacing
    2. the design draft (the height of the DWL above baseline)
    3. reference beam (BWL or max beam)
    :confused:
    Unfortunately, I am just a beginner and unsure about what those things mean, or where to find a simple hull body plan. I have already searched my library. Do you guys know of any online sources I could check out? Like a database of lines plans? Or just one? :)

Thanks for reading!

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Do you need just the hull lines or a complete construction plan?

3. EngineerGirl

I just need the hull lines, I think!!! And those three other items.

4. ldigas

ldigas Senior Member

Why can't you just search Google images for "lines plan", ... click on the left side on "large" to avoid icon size images, and off you go. There is a plethora of them.

Some of them probably have copyrights, but I doubt any holders will hold it against you if you use them for educational purposes.

All the necessary data is in there too ...

5. EngineerGirl

Thanks, Idigas! I am googling them right now. I am just really new at this and unsure what an official hull body looks like/what necessary information goes along with it. They all look a little different to me! I'll keep searching.

6. dialdan

dialdan Junior Member

Google , Hullform, it is a free hull design program ,could be useful

7. EngineerGirl

8. EngineerGirl

9. CatBuilder

CatBuilder Previous Member