Sail rig for Ellen

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by flydog, Apr 9, 2007.

1. flydog

flydog Junior Member

I am a first time builder and am constructing a 12' sailing dinghy. I am trying to decide what type of sail to rig her with. I am unfamiliar with sailing and the plans for the boat came with two sail designs: Sliding Gunter and Sprit. What are the advantages/disadvantages of Sprit vs Sliding Gunter? Any input from the sailors out there would be invaluable.

Thanks,

flydog

Attached Files:

2. messabout

messabout Senior Member

The sketches show two sails both of which are sprit sails. The one on the left is a sprit boom rig and the one on the right is a peak sprit rig. Either of those will work well enough. The peak sprit sail shown is boomless. That boomless rig will not give you the as good a performance as the sprit boomed one. In addition, the peak sprit type is famous for a self induced and decidedly worrisome phenomena called "death rolling". When on a downwind run the boat will start to oscillate from side to side. In the worst cases the oscillations will increase in magnitude until it dumps you. Experienced sailors have no real difficulty with that problem as they take corrective action before it is too late. The boomless sail is certainly convenient and simple. It is not the best way to go however.