sailboat conversation

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by mdem, Mar 13, 2013.

1. mdem

mdem New Member

hi im new to the boatbuiling/modifications game but iv been a carpenter for 15 years and have worked on many boats internally.i was recently offered a sailboat hull that was bein renovated im not into sailing but i was thinking of converting it into a kind of day cruiser/fisher!im looking for advice as to whether this would be a good idea and/or if its even possible?its a bilge keel kingfisher 20 i think.im wondering is it possible to remove the 2 fins on the bottom so she'd be more easily transported and also would it be possible to move where the outboard engine is mounted further to the back and fit an inboard outboard system(not sure if thats the right terminoligy!)so i could steer from a console at the cabin?any help or information would be greatly appreciated,thanks in advance,mike.

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum.

Yes, you can convert the sailboat to a motor cruiser. Yes, you can remove the appendages, but you'll need some 'glass repairs and possibly some structural reinforcement too. The boat is never going to go any faster then about 6 knots, regardless of the size V8 you install, so skip the whole out drive idea. Beside, this boat can't tolerate that much weight hanging on her butt.

You can move the outboard to the transom and make a splash well to protect the cockpit. A 10 HP outboard will be all your boat needs and a 5 HP, will do unless you're out in storms a lot. A 20 HP outboard will just beat the water to a froth around the back of the boat, but you'll go no faster (it's a physics thing).