Sailboat bulkhead layout & deck design

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by iamhepp, Sep 11, 2008.

1. iamhepp

iamhepp New Member

Greetings,

I am a novice at sailboat construction, but found a beautiful fiberglass hull on Ebay and couldn't resist the challenge of building my own. It's a 45’ LOA, 36’ LWL, 5’-3” draft, 14’ beam and 9’-6” depth of hull amidships.

Forward is a clipper bow (12' above baseline), aft is a raked, wineglass transom. The sheer steps up approximately one foot aft at about the 2/3 length in Grand Banks schooner style. The keel is full length and projects evenly about a foot below the body of the hull. The aft underwater body is shaped for a propeller, shaft and rudder.

The hull is believed to have been built in the early 1970s, but there is no documentation and no plans that goes with it. On the plus side it has remained since its construction in a warehouse, protected from the elements. It is really a shell sans bulkheads, frames or stringers, but with exquisite lines. The construction appears to be ½” Airex core, skinned inside and out with ¼” fiberglass.

I want it to be a center cockpit schooner and was hoping that you could steer me to some place where can I get some kind of professional help for bulkheads placement, where to step the masts and the like.

I know that I am in up to my ears and have more time than I do money, but I feel that I can make this a wonderful boat and am willing to do what it takes to do it the right way. Any help you can be will be greatly appreciated.

Mike

2. MikeJohns

MikeJohns Senior Member

Mike

It is a hard road trying to take over someones long abandoned project. Probably worth posting some pictures inside and out to see if anyone recognises the hull. If they do and there are plans then you are off and running.

If not then you need to take sufficient lines off to assess displacement latteral plane and coefficients.