ask for some help

Discussion in 'Software' started by Stuhl, Oct 5, 2010.

1. Stuhl

Stuhl Junior Member

I joined a team to build a concrete canoe, but my major is material and don't know much about design ,so I need some help
    if anybody can tell me which software is better for me to use ,not too complex ,because I have to learn it in a month
    thank you ~~~

2. pavel915

pavel915 Senior Member

Freeship, it is free and easy,,,

3. pavel915

pavel915 Senior Member

But I hope you are concerned about the fact that , learning boat design does not mean- learning a boat design software only. If you really mean "design" instead of "drawing" or "drafting" then you have to go through many theoretical study too,

4. daiquiri

daiquiri Engineering and Design

You can try with Freeship, it is freeware and pretty easy to use and has incorporated all the stability and power prediction tools you need for a canoe.
    http://freeship-plus.land.ru/downloadsE.html
    you should first download and install the 3.1+ full version, and then the last update (3.15+)
    Good luck! :)

P.S.
    Pavel was faster than me... :)

5. Stuhl

Stuhl Junior Member

I learn the software is just to help others to drawing ,I have to admit that I really know little about design
    perhelps I should listen to your suggest and try to learn some theory ,maybe it will help me to use the tool better.thank you for your help
    and hope you can understand my poor english

6. Stuhl

Stuhl Junior Member

I don't know why I can't link to the web you just gived,maybe I have to search for it somewhere else ,still thanks for your help!:p

7. daiquiri

daiquiri Engineering and Design

8. pavel915

pavel915 Senior Member

If you are new in design, you should first go through "hydrostatics", "stability","Resistance" etc. Anyone of the "team" who are designing the boat should have this theoretical knowledge.