runabout hull design

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by spear, Jul 14, 2002.

1. spear

spear Junior Member

Hello to all.can anyone give me any info on the shelter island runabout? Ive decided to build this boat at 8 -8.5 meters length.Im thinking about wood construction or aluminum.I,m a professional woodworker but the idea of less maintenance with the aluminum sounds better. I am a good welder with steel but have never welded aluminum and thats the thing thats got me a little reluctant in using it.Plus with alloy it would be lighter than wood wouldnt it?this particular boat has twin v8 engines.Im thinking of using a smaller diesel motor for economy.as Im not interested in speed so much.would this play any role in what type of hull design I should use? if anyone out there can give some assistance to this first timer i would greatly appreciate it. thanks.

2. Jeff

Jeff Moderator

First, welcome to our forums!

When you say you are going to build a 'shelter island runabout' at 8-8.5 meters, you are referring to this boat specifically or just the general appearance/style?

Will you do the design work yourself, or will you be looking for existing plans? Keep in mind that if you copy the style too closely (however this comes to be defined in the courts), you can get into trouble, for example http://www.soundingsonline.com/archive.story/1648.html
    Granted this isn't directly applicable to a one-off project, but I'm still uncomfortable saying you're going to build someone else's design unless you have permission - better to refer to styles or a boat similar to but different than...

In any case, welcome to our forums. It's been a long day for me already, so hopefully the other members of our forums will jump in and provide better answers to your questions.

Attached Files:

3. Polarity

Polarity Senior Member

What a great looking boat!

4. spear

spear Junior Member