Looking for custom power catamaran boat builder

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Nathan Hill, Mar 26, 2024.

1. Nathan Hill

Nathan Hill New Member

I recently purchased a custom-built power catamaran. I was given the specs to the boat as well as a couple more similar boats. I want to find someone who would be able to build the boats for me. I'm fairly new at all of this and don't even know what questions to ask.
    Any help one can give on where to start would be much appreciated.

2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Welcome to the Forum Nathan.

An obvious question perhaps - who built your power cat? Are they still in business? If they are, are they not interested in building any more cats?

How many cats do you want to build? Are you looking to set up a boat charter business w1ith a fleet of cats?

Can you post some details of your cat please, such as specifications (size, weight, power etc) and some photos?

3. Nathan Hill

Nathan Hill New Member

Banjansailor,
    Thanks for the reply. G-Cat, the company that built the original boat is no longer in business. Hull #1 is a prototype.
    Original specs:
    Powered by twin 90hp outboards, 400 gal of fuel, AC Cabin with galley, upper and lower helm. There are four solo bunks in the forward and aft sections of each hull, and a head in the port side.
    Fuel: 4.5 mpg at 18 mph cruise; 1800 mi range. 17K pounds

I purchased the vessel in February and she will be running charters in Destin, Florida this season
    We just put two new 140hp Suzuki engines on it. We named her the Lady Delana, after my wife.

I currently have a small charter business and looking to expand.
    My goal is to start with two or three cats and eventually more.
    IMG_4192.jpeg Cover CILA.png IMG_0050.JPEG IMG_4192.jpeg Cover CILA.png IMG_0050.JPEG

bajansailor, fallguy and BlueBell like this.
  4. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Lady Delana does look very fine indeed - and 4.5 mpg at 18 mph is pretty good going!