Rule of Thumb for Weight-Displacement Relationship

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by lady pirate, May 22, 2011.

1. lady pirate

lady pirate Junior Member

Hi I'm new in boat/ship design. Can anyone help me if there is a rule of thumb as how much of the total weight is the displacement? I am currently doing some manual calculations for my draft estimates, and I need something to countercheck it. Thank you very much.

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

I take it you are new to naval architecture?

There is no rule of thumb, there is Archimedes theorem, it ia proven fact.

The total weight equals the total displacement…doesn’t float otherwise!

3. lady pirate

Yes, I am totally new. I am aware of the Archimedes Principle. But how do I get compute (manually) the Draft at Bow & Stern if I have a lot of unknowns? All I have is the weight and shape of my ship. I can only use archemedes' if I am able to compute my submerged volume, but with my available data, I am lost :-(

4. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

You need a set of hydrostatics of the boat inquestion. You need the hydrostatics to show the LCF, LCB, MCT 1cm, KM(L) and KM(T) at a range of drafts. The correct KG (or close to it) should be used when computing or presenting the hydrostatic data. (It effects some of the values calculated).

Then you’ll need your weight, which has the correct LCG for that condition.

Then it is a matter of using the two sets of data to find the draft.

For a naval architect this is a simple task. For a novice like yourself..it may as well be brain surgery. No disrespect meant, but unless you know what you’re doing, you’ll make a huge mess.

So, if you can post the data here, or seek a friendly local naval architect to help you.

5. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Once you have the weight/displacement and the Center of Gravity, you can calculate the submerged volume. As AdHoc says, it is not so simple. You can do it manually or use on of several software programs.

6. lady pirate