newbie here, help point me in the right direction

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by pongorulz, Dec 31, 2007.

1. pongorulz

pongorulz New Member

ok, like it says above, im new here, and to the boating world. actually my only experience on a boat is a cruise and a dive boat. and now i wanna try to make one.

this is what i got. i was given a mustang 5.0 (302 ci) that right now makes about 190-220 hp. i can easily get this engine to make at least 300 hp but it would take a little money, which im not really too worried about.

now i understand there is a little difference between a boat engine and a car engine. my first question is, would this be a good engine to start with, and if so what and where should i start to make this engine sea worthy?

now as far as a hull is concerned.... i mainly want to use this boat for diving. occasionally for water skiing and wake boarding, and of course for cruising up and down the inter coastal. and possibly fishing. so im thinking something about 20' long center console (could go for a left hand drive) inboard with the swim deck. and since its 20' long im guessing that jet drive would be outta the question.

now what type of hull should i look for? is there any certain make or model? i would liek one that basically only needs an engine, but would settle for anything basically, as long as it already had the prop. that thing looks expensive. as for controls, it doesnt really matter, that stuff seems easy. im pretty handy with my hands. so that doesnt bother me too much.

if this sounds like a somewhat ok thing to do, of course there will be more questions.

2. Guest625101138

Guest625101138 Previous Member

If you are more interested in boating than boat building have a good look around the secondhand market on the web. If you buy well you will be able to trade up if your requirements change without losing much.