Union Jack extension - would like to increase the length by 15% or maybe 20%

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by iceman46, Mar 18, 2015.

1. iceman46

iceman46 Junior Member

My wife and I have decided to build the Glen-L steel hull Union Jack semi-displacement hull. Glen-L says we can extend the hull by 10% with no adverse effects, however we would like to increase the length by 15% or maybe 20%. We have been told that extending it by 10% means we do not have to increase the number of frames, only that they have to be re-spaced. If we increase it by 15% to 20% would we need to add a frame and is it feasible to extend to 15% to 20%. Would it affect the way the boat would preform. Any tips or advise would be gratefully appreciated. I am a proficient welder and mechanic but not a marine engineer so any help would be great.

Iceman46

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

Do not trust you in which say things without demonstrating them, because he does not risk anything. You risk your life and your money.
    You will build the boat completely from scratch so it pays to do some calculations and create the appropriate drawings to build the boat you want. Increase the length by 15% or 20% can greatly increase the weight and therefore the necessary power, you will reduce the stability and can have some harmful effects that currently do not occur to me.
    Make someone consider what you want to do.

3. iceman46

iceman46 Junior Member

Thanks TANSL
    The boat is a glen-L boat plan specifically for steel with full size plans
    There is a man in England that extended it to 34 feet with no problems and al I want to do is extend it to 35-36 feet.

4. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member