3D Design or 2D

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by stonecutter, Mar 17, 2010.

1. stonecutter

stonecutter .......

Hi,
    New to this forum and wanted to do a quick straw poll on design.
    Are people designing completely in 3D (ie Modeling hull, general arrangements, structure etc in 3D) or are people Modeling hull in 3D but then reverting to 2D for the GA's etc...

2. maodou

maodou Junior Member

Initial design use 2D,product design use 3D and 2D,low people can use 3D design and revert to 2D for approve,because building 3D is long time,no one can do it truley for once

3. magwas

magwas Senior Member

I design in 3D with FreeShip, then move to 2D by exporting the plate developments and linesplan. I add build-related details (like stitch hole positions) in 2D.
    Drawings for scantling purposes are made in 2D.
    But I do not count as I am just a hobby builder who only built models yet.

4. bhnautika

bhnautika Senior Member

Stonecutter I do a 3d model of the complete boat then take 2d drawings from that. In the process of doing the 3d model I also use 2d drawings (example, interior lay) as the start of some of the 3d modelling.

5. LyndonJ

LyndonJ Senior Member

If you use CAD you'd be bonkers to not use a 3D package.

The best one for boat design is Rhinoceros reffered to as Rhino. You'll get lots of help here using that application. Theres's also basic hydrostatics included.

6. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

I start with pencil, paper and calculator until the general idea is fleshed out. Sometimes I'll go even more primitive and use a slide rule (yes, I know they went the way of the dodo ten years before I was born).