rottin foam core on 25ft bow deck

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by blink2u, Jan 6, 2013.

1. blink2u

blink2u Junior Member

Hi guys,I have an early eighties 25ft Farrolon power boat,the fore deck on the bow,over the cuddy cabin,is a foam cored deck that is "rottin",the inner fiberglass layer has delaminated from the foam core,over the entire deck,making a very soft deck.I openned the deck up ,and the coring was a grey foam ,that was soaking wet and was very crumbly.
    My question is,what would be the best material to replace this entire deck,I have had no experience in any of the different types of cores,but have worked with plywood as a core material,with epoxy.Any input would be appreciated

2. Herman

Herman Senior Member

Any pictures?

As a replacement core you could opt for Core-Cell, Balsa, PVC foam.

But first determine what caused the detoriation of the deck. This could be water ingress, combined with bad workmanship (unfilled kerfs in scrim cloth foam), but also just too low material specifications.

3. swanson27

swanson27 New Member

Hi I have a swanson 27 with the same core problem.

I would like to see if there is anything wrong with pulling all the inside fibreglass skin off, removing the the core and just replacing it with supporting arches/ribs made of wood or fibreglass ? Seems like less work and I would not have this problem again ?

4. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

Tearing the deck up from outside is a major as 99 times out of 100 the innerskin is weak and flimsy so redoing the core is not easy .
    tearing out from the inside is a little better but working upside down is not easy and will test you patents to the limit and beyond for sure !!
    The outside surface laminate will possibly be ok and support its shape ok . As for replacing with ribs ,again you need to get back the strength and so will have to build up a few layers of good glass to get you stiffness before fitting the ribs / frames etc !!