Cheap, easy, fast homebuild

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by TimClark, Dec 28, 2007.

1. TimClark

TimClark Senior Member

High Performance Homebuild

I was messing around with some ideas for a possible senior project for next year, and I decided to get on with doing a homebuild high performance (relative term) dinghy that could be singlehanded in the lighter stuff and doublehanded when it starts to blow. I decided that I would want the build to be as easy, and cheap as possible due to the fact that I'm a high school student without a license, aka I have no way of getting to a job so I have a very small cash inflow for now. So, the build would be stitch and glue, out of stressed ply. Rig would be from a 420 so I don't have to go out and build or buy something. When singlehanding the boat, you would basically be on the trap most of the time, and doublehanding trapping wouldn't be needed until it kicks up a bit more. If you have any questions, comments or suggestions just throw them down. Thanks.

TC

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Dec 31, 2007
  2. TimClark

TimClark Senior Member

Basic Dimensions:

Length: 14 ft
    Beam: 4.2 ft
    Designed hull weight: 110-120 lbs
    Volume Displaced(with singlehanded crew of 200 lbs): 4.99 ft^3
    Wetted Surface area: 27.03 ft^2

Obviously by going with the chines/stitch and glue construction I am going to have a higher wetted surfaced area than if I did plank construction and no chines. However, I think the benefit of weight saved by doing stitch&glue with stressed ply strongly outweighs the advantages of having no chines and a heavier hull.

TC

3. Petros

Petros Senior Member

Tim,