What Nicol do I Own?

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by gone2long, Jan 16, 2017.

1. gone2long

gone2long Junior Member

Good day,

I am a newbie boat owner who bought what was advertised as a Hedley Nicol design. However, I have not been able to verify the actual design or designer.

The 12 meter boat is different from the early Nicol designs in that it is a much sleeker build. A Kiwi friend suggested that the boat resembles some of Lex Nicol's designs, and may actually be one of his.

I have attached 3 photos which I hope will spark some neurons in the brains of conoscenti like yourselves. In one photo, the boat is "spider-webbed" in anticipation of an on coming typhoon, but it still has a tarp over the coach roof, making it hard to identify the design. In the haul out photo, one still cannot see the coach roof but gets a sense of how flush it is to the hull - only 1 foot higher. Furthermore, missing from the transom in the haul-out photo is the "kick-up rudder box", which was apparently designed to allow the boat to be easily beached. A close look at the photo will show the area where the "box" is usually fitted onto the transom.

In the photo, with the boat being hauled alongside the dock, the short, narrow coach roof is clearly visible, making it an unusual design for a Nicol.

Please rotate the photos for better viewing (the wife took them : ), and let me know if any of these photos ring a bell. Also, if anyone knows if there are plans available for the design, please let me know, as I need to fix some damage to an ama. Boat is a US home build (not mine) so, apparently, plans are available or have been in the past

Thanks to all,

G2L

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jan 16, 2017
  2. cavalier mk2

cavalier mk2 Senior Member