Rinker 242

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by Mayor, Apr 30, 2004.

1. Mayor

Mayor New Member

Guys,

I am in the market for a 24 foot Mid-Cabin Cruiser that can sleep my wife and 2 children.

I am thinking of buying a 2000 Rinker 242 Fiesta Vee. Its in absolute mint condition, with 60 hours on a Bravo III, Dual SS Prop, Fuel Injected, MerCruiser. It loaded with every option, including Air Conditioning.

I have been boating for about 8 years now and within those 8 years I have only owned SeaRay. First was a 19 foot bowrider and then was a 23 foot bowrider. Both of these boats offered me ZERO trouble and ZERO dollars out of my pocket - I was VERY happy with both of them.

I was looking at the SeaRay 240 Sundancer (1999 to 2000) and I love pretty much everything about it - except the price.

Now here is my question. Will I be as happy with a Rinker 242 vs a SeaRay 240 Sundancer? I used to think that SeaRay offered the nicest interiors, the prettiest seating, the more "plush" wood dash boards...UNTIL I saw this Rinker. It offers so much more boat for LESS money.

Here is a small list of what the Rinker offers over the SeaRay (when in the same price range):

* Bravo III drive
    * Fuel Injection
    * Dual SS Props
    * Microwave (standard)
    * Stove (standard)
    * Full Head w/ sink & shower (standard)
    * Wood Steering Wheel & Dash
    * VHF Radio (standard)
    * More seating / Covertible seating
    * Full Camper Canvas (standard)
    * Cockpit Table (standard)

Any opinions will be most appreciated. Anyone that owns a Rinker 242 - please reply.

Thanks,

Mayor

2. Monty 1

Monty 1 Guest

Does the sea-ray have a porta-potty or a real toilet? All the sea-rays I looked at had a porta potty.That was enough to make my wife walk away.
    Some of my friends have Rinkers and are extremely happy with them ,although they are all larger than 24'