Ultra Cheap River Boat design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by ultracheapboat, Apr 30, 2004.

1. ultracheapboat

ultracheapboat Junior Member

Hi, I'm fairly new to boat design. I'm working on a study about river and inland water transport in developing countries.
    For millions of people, inland water transport is the most important mode of mobility. In many of those countries (Brazil, Bangladesh, Vietnam, China, India, Congo, etc...), road networks and road infrastructure are in a mediocre or bad state, and so river transport remains a vital element in people's mobility. Moreover, inland water transport is a life vein for small local economies, from a "logistics" point of view.
    However, many people find it difficult to buy new boats, or to maintain old ones. Their mobility is being reduced by a lack of cheap boats.

My idea is to create an Ultra Cheap River Boat, for the poor, so to speak. Such a boat would be made of injection moulded plastic (for the hull) and a cheap engine. The boat should be ultra-basic, safe, durable and of course dirtcheap.

I'm just presenting this as a general idea, it's only a very broad concept, but I'd love to hear your comments on this.

Does anyone know about injection moulded plastic boats? I've heard that the US Navy used such boats in the Vietnam War.

Thx and I'm looking forward to your ideas and advice.

2. duluthboats

duluthboats Senior Dreamer

I would look at this site carefully. http://www.fao.org/DOCREP/003/W7260E/W7260E00.htm
    The boats on this site are suited for the purpose you intend. They are easily built from wood, which universally available, and easily repairable with hand tools.
    Gary

3. ultracheapboat

That's really a fantastic link. Just what I was looking for. (I forgot the FAO Fisheries' dept!).

Thx a lot. :)

4. SeaDrive

SeaDrive Senior Member