Design 077

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Nic Mulligan, Jun 27, 2022.

1. Nic Mulligan

Nic Mulligan Junior Member

Hi I’m considering building one of these two boats
    Design 077 (Whistock Boats and Boat Plans – Design 077 https://www.whisstock.com/page_02.php?page_id=2.2.1&design=077&load=1)
    or design 119 (Whistock Boats and Boat Plans – Design 119 https://www.whisstock.com/page_02.php?page_id=2.2.2&design=119&load=2)
    I am a beginner boat builder and a university student so as you can guess I’m tight on time and money. I wanted to do these designs as they look relatively similar to folk boats and aren’t plywood hulled which I found a lot of beginner boats are.
    can anyone give me an insight on this and if it’s worth it?

2. kapnD

kapnD Senior Member

Both of those boats will be quite a challenge for a novice boatbuilder, could take years to complete on a part time basis, and will cost many times what a good used boat of similar dimensions would.
    Sailing is much more entertaining than building, and will help you acquire a clearer idea of what you really need in a future build!

3. Milehog

Milehog Clever Quip

We want to see happy, successful boaters! I'm gonna be blunt here, please do not take it as criticism, just sharing time tested wisdom.
    Some people build nice boats and sail the world, others get divorced over never-ending time and financial drains that never get completed.
    A person needs to ask themselves some hard questions and answer them honestly.

Do you have boating experience? Do you know for sure you like it?

You may not save money building your own boat. The pros buy everything at wholesale, you will pay retail. You will have unplanned wasted material. Building space is a real expense and gets worse if the project drags from months to years. Sometimes decades.

As above, buy a used boat and have fun! Get an idea of what you want in a boat. Put together a statement of requirements (SOR) for your next boat.