restoring a fiberglass kayak

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by cnu, Apr 9, 2006.

1. cnu

cnu New Member

Hi,

I'm new to the whole boating thing and have recently acquired a tatty old kayak. I have decided that I want to fully restore the kayak so that I can make use of it. I realise this is a huge undertaking considering I don't know anything yet. I was hoping that this would be a good place to get advice and information of how I can repair the damage.

I am developing a website to document restoration process, this is currently in it's early stages and there aren't many pictures on there yet. If anyone wants to have a look and offer any advice, or even just tell me what type of canoe it is (I think it's a sea kayak, but not sure). Here's a link to the site:
    http://www.oodboo.co.uk/cnu

If this is not the right subforum or even website to be asking for advice on a kayak then please accept my appologies without the need to flame me. And if you could point me in the right direction that would be a great help.

Thanks

Adam

2. JEM

JEM Senior Member

Your site says:

"Before I started this I didn't know what gelcoat was, I initially thought I could just sand it down and paint it. After the little bit of research I've done so far, it isn't going to be that simple."

It could be that simple. You'd have to remove all the gel coat which looks like there isn't much left anyway.

For repair, and man do you have plenty of it, using epoxy might be easier for you to use instead of polyester or vinylester. It'll be easier to mix smaller batches.

3. Grantman

Grantman Junior Member