Rhino rendering problem

Discussion in 'Software' started by ct marine nz, Jun 1, 2008.

  1. ct marine nz
    Joined: Jun 2006
    Posts: 28
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: New Zealand

    ct marine nz Junior Member

    Can any one help me ?
    When ever I go to render a model i have been working on my computer just takes ages to do it so I went out and bought a new Hard drive 3070MB 32 bit operating system 64x2 dual core processor5000+ 2.60ghz and its worse !!! the file is 4.2 mb -drawing of a 500x500mm flush hatch
    I check the CPU performance and its maxed out at 100% surely i'm doing something wrong with the drawing
     
  2. MikeJohns
    Joined: Aug 2004
    Posts: 3,176
    Likes: 198, Points: 63, Legacy Rep: 2054
    Location: Australia

    MikeJohns Senior Member

    Check your mesh settings.

    "Render properties "
    "mesh"

    try the jagged fast option, if still slow you probably have something skew with your model. If you want to post the file here one of us can try and see if it's your system or the file.
     
  3. Tim B
    Joined: Jan 2003
    Posts: 1,438
    Likes: 59, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 841
    Location: Southern England

    Tim B Senior Member

    Right... I don't want this to sound too critical, but...

    Interesting spec machine. HDD really 3070MB ??? are you sure you don't mean 300GB (which would be a reasonable size). 32bit OS (which must be a version of Windows if you're running Rhino) with a 64 bit (dual core) processor. Processor is an AMD, and it is damn fast, unfortunately Windows struggles to use the performance (try Linux if you want an example of what should happen).

    How much RAM do you have? I would guess that with that CPU the motherboard would support about 4GB. This is one case where lots of RAM will make a difference. What OS are you running? Win XP/ Vista?

    Rendering can be a big job, but it helps if the PC you're doing it on is well set-up.

    Hope this helps a bit,

    Tim B.
     
  4. DGreenwood
    Joined: Aug 2004
    Posts: 714
    Likes: 34, Points: 28, Legacy Rep: 507
    Location: New York

    DGreenwood Senior Member

    Don't forget about your video card!
     
  5. Tim B
    Joined: Jan 2003
    Posts: 1,438
    Likes: 59, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 841
    Location: Southern England

    Tim B Senior Member

    Rendering (and here we mean high-res static or frame-by-frame rendering, not rendering of moving scenes (as in videos)) has nothing to do with the graphics card. It is an entirely CPU and RAM based operation. There are more detailed descriptions on the web. POV-Ray is a very good bit of code to look at if you want to know more.

    Cheers,

    Tim B.
     

  6. MikeJohns
    Joined: Aug 2004
    Posts: 3,176
    Likes: 198, Points: 63, Legacy Rep: 2054
    Location: Australia

    MikeJohns Senior Member

Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.