Rhino: Positioning Stiffeners in Bottom Panel

Discussion in 'Software' started by Willallison, Dec 9, 2010.

  1. Willallison
    Joined: Oct 2001
    Posts: 3,590
    Likes: 130, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 2369
    Location: Australia

    Willallison Senior Member

    Generally, I use the 'extract isocurve' command to assist in getting a nice smooth run for stiffeners in a panel. Depending on the panel however, this doesn't always work.
    Any other suggestions?
     
  2. raw
    Joined: Jul 2006
    Posts: 133
    Likes: 5, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 59
    Location: Oz

    raw Senior Member

    "project"
     
  3. DCockey
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 4,728
    Likes: 322, Points: 83, Legacy Rep: 1485
    Location: Midcoast Maine

    DCockey Senior Member

    Another method is to create a plane which you the stiffner is to lie in, then use "intersect" the surface and the plane. The plane can be created using "CutPlane".
     
  4. Willallison
    Joined: Oct 2001
    Posts: 3,590
    Likes: 130, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 2369
    Location: Australia

    Willallison Senior Member

    Thanks...
    But if I want say 3 stiffeners that are evenly spaced throughout the length of a bottom panel of varying width and deadrise...?
     
  5. pavel915
    Joined: Nov 2006
    Posts: 349
    Likes: 10, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 154
    Location: Bangladesh

    pavel915 Senior Member

    Go to the topview,draw straight-lines (according to the extent of the stiffeners) or curved lines and then use "project" command.
     
  6. raw
    Joined: Jul 2006
    Posts: 133
    Likes: 5, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 59
    Location: Oz

    raw Senior Member

    divide up some on surface section contours. Loft curves through the points. this curve will be very close to what you are looking for however will not be on the surface. Move this curve away vertically then project back onto the surface. Done.
     
  7. Willallison
    Joined: Oct 2001
    Posts: 3,590
    Likes: 130, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 2369
    Location: Australia

    Willallison Senior Member

    that's pretty much what I figured as being the easiest way... just wondered if anyone had come up with anything else....
    Thanks
     
  8. DCockey
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 4,728
    Likes: 322, Points: 83, Legacy Rep: 1485
    Location: Midcoast Maine

    DCockey Senior Member

    There shouldn't be any need to move the curve away from the panel before projecting.
     
  9. raw
    Joined: Jul 2006
    Posts: 133
    Likes: 5, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 59
    Location: Oz

    raw Senior Member

    no, but given the two curves will be almost identical, it reduces the chance of picking the wrong one when you come to using it.
     
  10. bhnautika
    Joined: Feb 2006
    Posts: 848
    Likes: 55, Points: 38, Legacy Rep: 571
    Location: australia

    bhnautika Senior Member

    Will the surface inter section with history turned on gives you a line that is on the surface but moves if you change one of the surfaces, for example, if you create a surface that cuts through where you think the stiffener would run you can move that surface and the line if its not quite right without having to re do the line. Note:Right click the record history to make sure that update children is ticked and lock children is off
     
  11. DCockey
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 4,728
    Likes: 322, Points: 83, Legacy Rep: 1485
    Location: Midcoast Maine

    DCockey Senior Member

    If the "deleteinput" option in the project command is set "=yes" then there isn't a problem of which one to select. Moving the curve opens the possibility of moving it out of position. But everyone does things in their own way.
     
  12. raw
    Joined: Jul 2006
    Posts: 133
    Likes: 5, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 59
    Location: Oz

    raw Senior Member

    Must be a V4 thing?
     
  13. DCockey
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 4,728
    Likes: 322, Points: 83, Legacy Rep: 1485
    Location: Midcoast Maine

    DCockey Senior Member

    I have Version 4. It's what I started with so I don't know how commands worked in earlier versions.
     
  14. Joe Petrich
    Joined: Jun 2008
    Posts: 165
    Likes: 10, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 141
    Location: PNW

    Joe Petrich Designer

    Another option is to project transverse curves onto the hull or surface, divide them by whatever your spacing is, then draw between the points using InterpCrvOnSrf. Make sure the curves you divide are all going in the same direction. Flip them if they aren't. Also make sure when dividing using a length or distance that the curves start where you want them to.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2010

  15. terhohalme
    Joined: Jun 2003
    Posts: 512
    Likes: 38, Points: 28, Legacy Rep: 506
    Location: Kotka, Finland

    terhohalme BEng Boat Technology

    OffsetCrvOnSrf?
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.