Freeship 2.6 How to get both halves of the transom into one piece

Discussion in 'Software' started by 2realbmx, Aug 5, 2017.

1. 2realbmx

2realbmx Junior Member

I'm trying to draw up a boat in freeship 2.6 and get some alum cut and then weld it myself.

but a lot of parts stay separated halves. the deck of my boat gives me two halves that are not even drawn against each other when I click develop plates. My transom halves are drawn against each other but it still gives me a centerline which would be cut. and then has to be welded together again.

I do have autocad 2007 but making one entity (part) out of two seems impossible there to.

I used this guide to draw in freeship 2.6
    Designing a jetboat with DelftShip http://www.jbnz.co.nz/yabbse/index.php?topic=25166.0

if any one could me a hint or any directions that would be really great.
    manny thanks in advance.

2. DSR

DSR Junior Member

Hi 2realbmx,

I'm by no means an expert with Freeship or cad, but I ran into similar issues working on my design and it turned out to be a couple different causes.
    Using the transom as an example, with the center line having a top and bottom data points, make sure that there is actually only one data point in each position (no duplicate points hiding right next to each other) and that the "Z" coordinate for each is 0. Also make sure that the center line is not designated as a "borderline".
    I hope this might help.....

I couldn't open the link you show in your post (it tells me that no page exists). Were the plans a download or just dimensions and data points to manually enter into Freeship?

Dave

3. 2realbmx

2realbmx Junior Member

I Have no idea why the link wont work.
    And I have no idea where to find if its borderline. Maybe you mean a crease edge ??
    One thing though. I thaught the z axis should be the height of the boat.