Is there an "all in one" software package?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Michael Harris, Mar 27, 2005.

1. Michael Harris

Michael Harris New Member

Hi, I'm a boatbuilder looking to get into the yacht design field. I have no experience with CAD, only manual drafting skills. I am trying to decide which CAD programs are the best to train up in????

Can anyone recommend one software package that can be used all the way from hull design right through to performance analysis and 3D modeling with photo realistic imaging? If not, what combination of software would best suit these needs?

Thanks Michael

2. Tim B

Tim B Senior Member

No, is the simple answer... but there are packages that fit into a neatly modular system better than others.

Your performance analysis is an interesting requirement. Do you mean VPP or resistance estimates based on empirical methods or on CFD?

For Empirical resistance estimates, I don't know of a CAD package that copes with it internally, but it is not too hard to get enough data out. For CFD I'm now working with Rhino (Version 3) to build surfaces, then use my own systems to produce the grid, then importing the answer into Rhino to see what's going on.

I assume you'll need a stability capability as well. There are packages (or add-ons) that will cope with it, but I haven't been particularly impressed with them.

In terms of a general yacht design program to do all this, I am in the process of writing one. The preview release (source on demand) is available from my website but is only for the Risc-OS platform. The Linux/Mac (and I dare say someone will compile it under windows) will have an alpha release for the end of the summer (around september).

The site is www.MarineDesign.tk

Cheers,

Tim B.

3. Michael Harris