Reverse Engineering (conversions And Modifications)

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by viking north, Dec 25, 2010.

1. viking north

viking north VINLAND

First no good books are available on this topic, and i want this to be an ongoing informative and educational thread that involves all sides of the equasion, Dreamers, backyard builders, pro builders, self taught and formal educated people involved in boat design. You notice i give credit where credit is due in my listing of the above as was the case in the evolution of the modern seagoing vessel. Before making the next statement i must qualify i am a combination of the first four catagories above as many of us are but to get the most out of your conversion or modification i stress that in the search for safety, function, appearance and resale value (you will recoup your investment)spend the extra dollar and involve the input of those engineering and design people that have the education and resources to give info and guidance to make the most of your project.
    Ok lets get to the topic at hand by presenting the following scenario to our fellow forum engineers/designers. We have obtained a structually sound hull that has the appearance it could be converted into a sailing craft or an incomplete sailboat project that has the hull completed but no keel or ballast installed. No design info can be found. First we want to know if the hull would make a reasonable sailing craft, motorsailer, or not applicable to either. Keep in mind our finances are tight, what info would you need to start the project, in otherwords step #1.

2. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

Please post some pictures so we can assess hull type. Merry Christmas.

3. Scunthorp

Scunthorp Hull Tech