soft wood

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by viking4, Jun 14, 2005.

1. viking4

viking4 New Member

hello, i am new to wooden boats. i actually have never owned a boat of any type before.i just purchased a 1962 cruiser runabout in original condition. can someone please tell me why i did this insanely stupid thing? anyway i have had this beautiful boat for two days and i noticed when i started to strip the paint that there were some soft spots around the bolts holding the planks together.the rest of the wood seems to be in great shape.can anyone help me i would like to have this project finished sometime before i die.

ps. is there an 800 number ican call, it only took two days and i think i am an addict.

2. artemis

artemis Steamboater

BOAT = Bring Over Another Thousand.

Unfortunately you have encountered the "Own a Boat" disease. This has been around for many years - it is part of the larger class sometimes called "I'm Stupid and Want to Throw Away Money". Current attempts by the Center for Disease Control have failed to isolate it due to a lack of understanding; i.e is it a virus; some sort of "spoor" (like dryrot); air born; water born; ... Consequently there appears to be no "cure" in sight. I understand there are "12 step programs" for those afflicted, but as most people who have the disease don't want to be known - even to each other - the meetings are held in unknown locations that have multiple rooms (one for each attendee) and communication systems that scrabble the voice.

The soft spots around the fasteners are probably due to the type (metal) of fastener used. Galvanized metals (and some others) set up a reaction with the wood which destroys its strength. Bronze is the only way to go, but you may not be able to use the same fastener holes. I'm sure some others will help you pinpoint this.

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder