Restoration vs New build

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by bigbowen, Apr 15, 2011.

1. bigbowen

bigbowen Junior Member

Hi,
    Im a very amateur builder designer,

I would like your opinions here, I have been given a classic style outboard speed boat,(to renovate) On closer inspection there does seem to be a lot wrong with it, in terms of damp hull plywood, rotten stringers, beams need replacing etc,
    As I have a low budget to throw at the project Im on the verge of chucking the boat and starting from scratch on a new build at some point in the future.

My question is,
    Do renovations generally require more work/effort than a new build.

Im aware that any renovation depends upon how bad the boat has actually got, but is there a point when a renovation becomes of questionable worth compared to building from scratch?

I apologise that its a very subjective question here but Im just looking for experiences, ideas etc,
    Any answers would be very welcome,
    Thanks
    Sam

2. Lurvio

Lurvio Mad scientist

Renovation always takes more time, as you have to first take the project apart to even see what has to be done as repairs. For your depiction it sounds that there would not be much left of the original hull once repaired.

Btw, I hate renovation so I might be a bit biased on this, but if the model is good, take it apart and build a replica using the old hull as a template.

Lurvio

3. cthippo

cthippo Senior Member

From your description it sounds like the hull is shot, so yeah, better to haul it to the dump and start fresh.

4. Madcat

Madcat Junior Member

If the hull isn't solid I would count it as a loss. You can do amazing things with a restoration, but I wouldn't put my hard earned cash and elbow grease into a hull that might not survive.

5. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder