resin bonding issue Apoxy vs Vinyl vs Ploy

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Cebu, Oct 21, 2010.

1. Cebu

Cebu Junior Member

I have been putting off building this boat for 30 years and finally at 52 I seem to have enough $ to build a poly boat. The problem is I keep reading posts that state that I cannot build in poly or vinyl due to the water seepage causing delaminations. I cannot afford to build with epoxy. If it is to be epoxy then it will not get built, and if it is poly it will fall apart.
    I plan on using a mold. The posts claim I can apply epoxy to poly but not poly to epoxy. Well if I am using a mold and the outer layer needs to be epoxy and the inner layers poly, am I screwed. Do I lay both layers while both are still wet, and then all future layers are ok to lay poly.
    I guess I should further clarify my construction technique first. Thirty years ago I developed a fiberglass/cardboard sandwitch process after attending a flyin in Oshkosh, Wisconson. A aircraft designer named Molt Taylor had built a plane out of cardboard covered with fiberglass. His material was strong and lightweight. He used solid cardboard like you see on the back of a pad of paper. I knew I did not have enough money to build a plane but I thought I could build a boat. I made a test sample 1 foot square. It had two layers of fiberglass and resin laid one at a time then I laid a wetted sheet of corrigated cardboard, then wetted the dry side and laid another layer of glass. I ended with glass,glass,board,glass,board,glass,board,glass,glass. It took less that an hour to finish. I found this in a box about 6 months ago and got me back into the fever again. This was so light and strong I am going to use it to build my Mississippi river Jon boat.
    So can anyone tell me if I can put epoxy on the outside of my boat if I layup the two layers at the same time and not have seperation and still retain my epoxy weatherproofness.