Engine Hours (volvo) how do we know

Discussion in 'Diesel Engines' started by Katoh, Aug 10, 2011.

1. Katoh

Katoh Senior Member

Colleagues
    I have a 22' aluminium boat which I am rebuilding, the Volvo Penta motor AD31B wich is removed at present showed on the Hour meter 256(white) 15(red)
    I take this as 256hours 15min, but being new to this boat I can not confirm this. When I purchased the vessel The tacho therefore the hour meter did not work, they are connected but not operational.
    I realise a question of how do you tell how many hours on the motor is futile and impossible to know.
    I am assuming the hour meter is relatively correct if anything lets place another 20% on top of the reading as error and say the motor has 300 hours. Being new to this and judging that the motor was built in 1990 say 20 years ago with 300 hours would this motor be due for a rebuild?
    I have no prior knowledge of the vessels past or even motor performance as when I bought the vessel it was not usable, due to corrosion in the hull. I do know that the motor starts, idles and accelerates and that's about it.
    At What hour mark would you start looking at replacing parts? and which ones?

Katoh

2. whitepointer23

whitepointer23 Previous Member

a 31b is good for at least 5000 hours which is not a lot for a diesel but they are a high speed small displacement engine. generally if a diesel starts easy and runs okay there is nothing wrong with them. make sure you replace all the anodes . if it has an aftercooler make sure you clean it as any crap that gets in the system collects there and restricts cooling water flow.

3. Katoh

Katoh Senior Member

Thanks for that.
    While the motors out I was not sure how far to take it, I'm definitely going to change anodes, hoses belts even the raw water pump, but getting conflicting messages on the motor.