Specific software taking care of production

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by panterissimo, Aug 8, 2019.

1. panterissimo

panterissimo New Member

Hi all,
    I'm new to the boat software, so I need one that at the end would give me the dimensions not only of the boat, but of the single part: for example, the side of a wooden boat is generally made of wooden boards, each one havinh a specific length: but when the boat is finished, the board is curved!
    I need to know its native lenght, that will be higher, to cut it, and only after this passage, to curve it.
    So, is there a boat software that can satisfy mu needs?
    Thx in advance to all, please exscuse my english, I'm Alberto, working in Venice Lagoon, Italy.

2. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

Welcome to the Forum.

I think what you are talking about is Computer-Aided Design, which is used extensively, not only for large scale concept drawings but down to the smallest component on the boat.

In the attached image, I can measure, identify, dimension every little bolt right up to the major aspects of say, the transom.

It's very common to use these tools, but it requires a lot of practice, and it may be easier to hire an expert in the field.

draw.png

3. panterissimo

panterissimo New Member

Dear rwatson,
    could you please indicate me one of these software? I guess from your post that it would give me the length of the curved boards..
    Thank you very much!

4. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

It is not CAD software but CAM and there are severa packages but expensives. It is not only to get measures but many other things and yes you need skills in that matters. PM me it you want more information and examples on what you can get of these softwares

5. messabout

messabout Senior Member

You can calculate those lengths of curved elements with some integral calculus exercises. If that is not your cup of tea then you can do it the old fashioned way....as follows........