cracked engine

Discussion in 'Inboards' started by wagner, May 30, 2006.

1. wagner

wagner New Member

This is my first time on this forum and I need some advice/opinions.

I have a 1989 Mark Twain, cobra inboard motor, i just put it in the water this weekend and there was water coming from the engine. There is no water in the oil.

I put it in the shop and they told me that there is a small crack and they could fix it for approx. $350.00 but that i really didn't have to fix it and that it won't get any bigger if i get it winterized properly from now on.

My questions are: could that be true that the crack won't get any bigger?
    and will the engine be okay with all that water running over it all the time?

Any advice would be great.

Wagner

2. boatn

boatn Junior Member

The last time I check is that when the engine block is cracked its cracked and it needs to be replaced Technolgy must be better if they can fix the crack!

3. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

First...where is the crack?

If the boat was allowed to freeze with water in the block then the water expanded and cracked the block or knocked out a freeze plug. If the crack was on the outer face of the block, then water from the water jacket would just leak out into the boat ( Whats the difference between a leak and a flooding casuality?...Wether you fear for you life...) Cheap quick fix is to drill the crack ends and soulder it up or replace the freeze plug ( both sound like $350.00) but you may have to strip the engine. RTV could stop the leak without removing the engine, but the crack could grow. It is unlikely that, for most motors, a crack in the outer water jacket would continue to grow.

The real question though, is if there is any internal damage from the freezing. It could have made a cylinder out-of-round or warped the block. That can't be answered unless the motor is taken all the way down and mic'ed. At that point, the block can be permanently repaired by furnace welding.

4. Mayfly