How to make hull calculations for a small motorboat (walleye boat)?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Bemboo, Apr 26, 2020.

1. Bemboo

Bemboo Junior Member

Hi everyone,
    I am a mechanical engineer but I have a great passion for boats. and I would like to build a small one (walleye boat) the same style as Crestliner, Lund...... I want to do it for myself but in case it will work, I would like to work as a builder.
    I started to study the fabrication (types of aluminum, welding, DC...) and I have no problem with all these.
    My problem is with the design, so I started to study hydrostatics and stability (Ship Hydrostatics and Stability By Adrian Biran, Ruben Lopez Pulido) first chapter was great I understood a lot about Geometry for Naval Architects. but the second chapter it was like Houston we have a problem, I need to repeat all Algebra II and Trigonometry to understand what he talking about.
    I am lost and I don't know is that correct what I am studying or should I study another book? especially all the calculations are about big ships. I need advice to know what exactly should I study to make a hull calculation for a small motorboat.
    Also, I started to practice on Rhinoceros and it's going well.

P.N : I can't study this in University or Institute. I am in Poland and I don't speak polish. So I have to study by myself with books.

Thanks for the help and looking forward to hearing from you.

2. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

Well, the easiest way would be to work from readily available plans, but before anything, establishing the requirements that you want to be met, by the boat. For example, the conditions it will be exposed to, in terms of water smoothness, distances travelled, loads carried, type of fishing and many more.

3. Bemboo

Bemboo Junior Member

It will be for fishing, like the one in the picture, and will use in lakes.

Attached Files:

4. Mr Efficiency