Searching for a Designer for Convert a Pointcloud to a 3D printable Object

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Socco, May 10, 2021.

1. Socco

Socco New Member

Hello
    i am looking for someone who can rebuild the point cloud of my boat into a 3d printable file.
    i'm a 3d newbie and so have my problems with converting the point cloud into a 3d object.

I have a point cloud (E57) of our ship (Menorquin 160 Fly - 16m) and now want to convert it myself into a 3D model.
    I want recreate a model ship on a scale of 1:20 or print the hull and deck with a 3D printer.

I have a point cloud from 35 scans as an e57 with all disturbances (outside and cabins).
    Then I have also a cleaned point cloud, in which many individual parts have already been taken apart and can be edited individually as a bin file (created with Cloudcompare)
    I tried to mesh these parts, but this is not so easy as many errors still here. now i was looking for a way to 'trace' this point cloud. here I stand in line.

I imagine having individual parts for printing:
    -hull
    -deck
    -cabins (botton with walls, bed)
    individual parts like
    tender, reling, crane etc.

If someone have interested, I can also send you the files. Original photos can also be made available or made individually.

if someone is interested to implement my project please pm for more information.
    a picture from the boat:
    socco.jpg

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

Do you know that this a huge work?
    Probanly it is better, and much cheaper, to start with the traditional body lines plan. Have you got it?

mc_rash likes this.
  3. Socco

Socco New Member

No, unfortunately not. the shipyard went bankrupt for a few years. there are no more plans.
    I've tried a lot myself. I know this is not a weekend job. But since I can't draw 3d it is difficult for me to estimate how long a practiced constructor has to do this. Neither should it be free work.