Open letter (because I don't think I'm alone)

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Kaptin-Jer, Oct 12, 2007.

1. Kaptin-Jer

Kaptin-Jer Semi-Pro

Hi guys,
    I have been asking advice and hopefully giving some help for the past 3 years on this forum. (the member listing doesn't reflect it because I crashed and had to rejoin)
    Now something has started to really bother me and I think I need real help. When I was 10 years old the Yacht Atlantic sailed into Wildwood yacht basin and docked there. A business man was going to make a restaurant out of her. For years I would ride my bike to the marina just to look at that huge black beautiful ship with her 3 yellow, raked masts. She looked like she was moving even after she sank to her rails. I dreamed of having a sail boat of my own.
    First came college, then Vietnam, then 3 kids. Finally about 15 years ago, while working as an Architect, I saved enough money to buy a set of plans from a Swedish Navel Architect. My dream boat, a 78' sloop. I rented an aircraft hanger from the Government (seized in a drug raid) 50 miles from my home. I lofted the lines in the computer, and spent From Friday night until Sunday afternoon at the hanger for two years building the mold. I had half the hull covered in cork when the company I worked for went out of business. I had to give the mold away. The there was the Herrishoff. Gave that to my brother (too small) then the Rebuilt Chrysler. 3 years work, sold it on EBay (too small), But I finally, with the money I made on the Chrysler, have a boat that I really like. A 38' Beneteau. Of course she was cracked in half and I had to completely gut the interior. See attached.