Maxsurf Model to 3D Printer

Discussion in 'Software' started by alexjblake, Mar 29, 2016.

1. alexjblake

alexjblake New Member

Hello,

This is my first post so quick introduction, I'm currently in my 4th year at University doing Naval Architecture and a long time boat lover!

I'm currently doing my dissertation on the optimisation of offshore lifecraft and I'm using the Bentley Maxsurf suite of software to do it. I've just about finished the design aspect of it and thinking ahead to the presentations etc.

Recently I got a 3D printer and had the idea to print the design I have come up with in 3D as a visual and tactile model to hand round but was looking for some advice with the conversion from Maxsurf Modeller to MakerBot...if anybody has any experience.

I've got the STL file into Makerbot fine but the preview doesn't look right (Image attached).

Does anyone have any ideas how to get the printer to print just the Hull Form without heavy infill or loss of structure at the bow? I've tried exporting it to Inventor to see if that would yield anything better but can't get that to act as a solid

Thanks in advance,

Alex

Attached Files:

2. bhnautika

bhnautika Senior Member

Hi alexjblake welcome to the forum. The STL file had some issues with mixed surface normals, some going in, some going out they need to all be in the same direction. To get some wall thickness to the shell so the hull is not a solid lump you could take it into a programme like blender (free) and add a “solidify modifier” to the mesh which will give you any thickness you want. To get accuracy in shape from a nurbs based model to a mesh based you will need to be able control the mesh output to increase its density to closer fit the surface model.

3. ludesign

ludesign Senior Member