deep sea mooring

Discussion in 'Projects & Proposals' started by exp30002, Mar 16, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. exp30002

exp30002 Previous Member

I am interested about developing a deep sea mooring site off the coast of Southern California. ( Los Angeles - San Diego )
    Preferably outside the 12 nautical miles territorial waters, using recycled waste car tires for buoy and line.
    (ringupcycle, ring weave technology, and more... ) ( for kelp, FAD, fish farm, possible OTEC )
    Start up money could come from recycle fee of waste tires. That would be upfront at the time of
    picking up the tires from waste tire generators.
    Vehicles would be necessary, a truck and a boat. I have a van with a hitch. I can get a trailer.
    I could manage a boat too. I have some sailing experience in the area.
    A waste tire hauler permit is also necessary (California). I think, I can manage a permit too.

Any input is appreciated.
    How would it go with the PR, (public relations), coast guard, Navy, merchant marines, sport fishers, local gov, Greenpeace, and other environmentalists ???

Main aim is to grow kelp.

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

You will have two main hurdles. The first is technological: the depth past the 12 mile limit is from 300 to more than 1000 feet. The second is legal: the USA claims 200 miles economic zone.

3. exp30002

exp30002 Previous Member

Hi gonzo;

Thank you for your response.

Yes, those are all challenges. The depth is a challenge, and there are lots of used car tires.
    The more tires I can use the more recycling fees I can collect. Lots of tires: 40 million in Ca per year.

The EEZ, alias Exclusive Economic Zone: I often wonder about this. To whom is it exclusive?
    I am a United States citizen. That might work for me.

Though, I would prefer the high seas, so outside of EEZ. More depth, more tires, more recycling money.