Lapstrake construction

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by rangeleywood, Nov 7, 2006.

1. rangeleywood

rangeleywood Junior Member

Hi Folks,

I'm new at boat building but have been woodworking for 25+ years. I'm researching how to build a Rangeley Boat. I have found some great resources. The length of the Rangeley I'm considering is 17 feet long, question i have is do I have to have 17' planks for this job, I have not yet found where they talk about how they handle butt joints for lapstrake contruction for shorter planks. I've order a few more books from the library to research but started to read on this site and finding quite a bit of info. Any help would be apprecited.

Thanks

2. Oyster

Oyster Senior Member

I do it two ways. Butt joints in small hulls creates hard points, especially if you do not intend on using any fiberglass and fairing compounds. These are done with a hand or power planer and then cleaned up by a finish sander. You can do scarf joints as I am doing and is described in this website. In the beginning you can do full sheets with 8 to 1 scarfs. Thats 8 times the thickness of the plywoods. This takes some practice before you do it on expensive woods or good plywoods. Read this link and there are others across the web. You do not need to worry about doing step scarfs, since you have little control over alignment if the scarfs end up a bit out of square. For beginners a smoothe taper is a great way to start.

http://www.shopbotprojectwizard.com/ProjectInfo/ScarferDesigner/

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. rangeleywood

Wonderful, easy enough, thanks

4. Oyster

Oyster Senior Member

When you are doing your scarf, use a backing board across the intended joint under the bottom side that makes a more uniform seam when planning and sanding. In plywoods that has the malamine glues, with no color, unlike the plywood with rescorcinol glues, that gives you a better showing of uniform layers, its a bit harder to follow.