Waterworld Trimaran

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by big-boss, Mar 25, 2008.

1. big-boss

big-boss Junior Member

I am a new guy-been looking on for a week or so finally signed up.
    I want to build an ocean going trimaran like the one in waterworld. Is there any plans on something like that? Do I need to commision a designer? Be gentle on me please.
    I have built about everything but a boat. I have built a Kirkham Cobra (latest project) to bridges, tilt-up buildings,prisions, etc. I am a civil engineer, contractor and a craftsman. I want to do this.

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Hi Big Boss,

If I were you, I'd start with a rowboat for kids, maybe something made of underlayment plywood.
    Just kidding! A friend of mine told me that Waterworld tri was modified and filmed in Hawaii--- his daughter worked on the film. I know nothing more but wish you luck finding the designer.

Alan

3. RHough

RHough Retro Dude

The WW tri was a tarted up for hollywood ORMA 60. They had two, one that could sail and on that had all the fake cranks and BS on it.

You can probably buy stock plans for an older ORMA Tri or just buy one.

There are chater opportunities also.

No offense, but if you don't know what an ORMA Tri is, you probably don't want one. :D

4. big-boss

big-boss Junior Member

I know what an ORMA 60 is- I have MAPQUEST just like you guys!
    I want to make one. I do not know what "stock plans" are, though. Where do you get them? Thanks again.

5. RHough

RHough Retro Dude

I'll try again ...

It's an ORMA Tri ... there are several, if not many designers that have done them. Find a designer that you like and ask them for a set of plans.

You aren't going to make one unless you have a boat shop and experience with composite construction.

There are ORMA Tris for sale.

As a boat building project it would be a hassle and turning it into a nifty whiz-bang neato Water World boat would ruin it.

Have fun ...

Google is your friend.

6. Munter