reason for keel rise in fishing vessel

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by vineethn88, Feb 1, 2010.

1. vineethn88

vineethn88 Junior Member

hi.
    i'm designing a fishing vessel . i wanted to know the significance of the rise of keel for fishing vessels. i need to know , why fishing vessels have keel rise at the fore end.kindly excuse for the ignorance. i'm a student of naval architecture & i'm supposed to investigate on this character.
    thanks in advance.

2. vineethn88

vineethn88 Junior Member

some suggestion & replies please.

3. baeckmo

baeckmo Hydrodynamics

Course keeping; simply put: The center of the lateral plane has to be aft of the center of mass and center of buoyancy, even when pitching amplitudes are high.

As a bonus you get protection for prop and rudder.

4. Joe Petrich

Joe Petrich Designer

To help you search a little better keel rise is also known as "keel drag".

Some other benefits of keel drag besides directional stability and prop/rudder protection is that you can have more volume in the hold area without having an overly deep forefoot and sometimes you can swing a larger prop for better efficiency.

5. luckystrike

luckystrike Power Kraut

Hello,

Historic fishing vessel, in those days operating with sails, were able to glide over drifting nets. Sometimes there own when they had problems with manouvering. When you look at the profiles of schooners and cutters you will see nearly straight lines from the bow to the deepest point of the hulls. This also helps when you go over a net and it reduces the possibility to get "hooked" on the net.

The gap between the end of the keel and the rudder is normally covered with a guiding strap of metal.

6. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Keel drag is necessary for boats getting hauled out on rails. Now with cranes, drydocks and lifts it is possible to have a straight keel.

7. Joe Petrich

Joe Petrich Designer