Re-rig ketch to schooner

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by mcoffey, Dec 22, 2008.

1. mcoffey

mcoffey New Member

Hello,
    I am not a designer, but have a question on re-rigging a Hudson Force 50 from a ketch to a schooner. William Garden designs were mostly drawn as ketches or schooners so there should be enough drag aft for a schooner rig, but because these are factory built ketch rig boats would there need to be hull and/or deck modifications to move the mast steps and chain plates to change the rig to a staysail schooner with marconi main.
    I have been thinking about this for some time and replys will help me to continue with this thought or abandon the thought.
    Thank you for any input.
    Mike

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

The main mast would have to come through the pilothouse roof, which would be a weakness for sure, though anything can be reinforced. It's also likely the main mast step would land directly on top of the engine, which could make it hard to change it's oil.

In all honestly, this is a bit of major surgery, though the hull certainly could carry this rig. The schooner is a romantic rig, but you'll wish for the ketch in short order after sailing such a change.

I'd recommend against the conversion. If you were to consider it, much, if not all of the interior would have to be ripped out, a new structural grid bonded to the hull and liner, with the steps in the right locations, new chain plates, bulkheads and other load accommodations designed and installed, a new interior around the new structural and rig changes, not to mention the deck. Yep, tens of thousands, but it can be done. I'm not trying to pee on your parade, but it would be a substantial undertaking.

3. TeddyDiver

TeddyDiver Gollywobbler

Not a good idea like PAR said..