Dual Hull Design. Expertise Needed

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by FreelanceBuild2, Jan 16, 2012.

1. FreelanceBuild2

FreelanceBuild2 Junior Member

I need help! I'm very new to this. So new to this that I'm still in the designing phase. I have the designs for a new innovative engine. I can't delve into the details because i still need to get a patent first. I have a degree in Auto Body, and my friend, (Gordon, who is in this with me) has a degree in advanced engineering. He's the one who brought the idea of this engine to me and since then we have come to the conclusion that we want to put the designs into a boat.

We have a laptop set aside for C.A.D. programing and I'd like to begin the designs for a 60' Motorsailer, preferably a Catamaran. We'd like to have more of a luxury cruise design. I need to know everything. Any tip, encouragement, fact, anything would be very helpful, and very very appreciated. We live in Jackson, Missouri and when ready, can set sail down the Mississippi River to the Golf of Mexico.

There's some specifics that id like to point out. It'll be Gordon, my wife, me, and possibly room for three more comfortably. Storage for a long trip because once she is sea worthy we are going around the world to prove that the innovative engine design works for long periods of time. The sail is just a precautionary measure for if the engines break er something goes wrong and we need other means of propulsion. We will document everything.

2. redreuben

redreuben redreuben

If you have an innovative engine to deal with, why not just buy an off the shelf plan or at least modify same if need be ?

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

There are many people that build a boat around an engine they own. However, they know the weight, dimensions, HP, torque, etc. For all I know, the engine won't work unless it is stationary.

4. daiquiri

daiquiri Engineering and Design

Why put the engine in a boat and not in a car, for example?

5. FreelanceBuild2