Recomendations for new transom material?

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by 85 starcraft, Jan 20, 2007.

1. 85 starcraft

85 starcraft Junior Member

Today we removed the old transom from our 21 ft. 1985 starcraft aluminum- hulled boat. The wood was starting to rot. When we extracted the transom we found that it was of 1 5/8" plywood ( marine?), 12 inches high by about 70 inches long.

Having done all this work, and having much to do to reinstall new transom material, I pose the following question to the gurus here: What is the absolute best transom material to use as a replacement? Marine Plywood vs. monolithic lumber vs. some kind of composite vs. foam core? And why?

Thanks for your help!

Carl

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

3. 85 starcraft

PAR: Yes I'm new, and I'm not a professional boat-builder, but before posting the above question I did spend several hours searching this site's forums in an attempt to find an answer, or at least a consensus of opinion. Having read the transom-material debates in various forums re foam core materials vs. marine plywood vs. poor old Seacast [ pun intended], I concluded that marine plywood is clearly favored by at least a plurality of the pros here as being 'tried and true' and having known qualities, despite it's Achilles heel [susceptibility to rot]. Even so, there appear to be a number of boat builders who do seem to use composites and core material in "smaller boat" transoms with very good results.

In light of the above, and given that my boat is an all-aluminum hull and only 21 feet in length, I thought it reasonable to narrow my search by posting the above question on this sub-forum-- "metal boat building"-- in hopes of eliciting opinions from folks watching this particular subforum with experience, opinions and a willingness to provide advice to someone who is [re]building a metal boat. Can you see my thought process here?