re-attaching deck to hull on fiberglass fish/ski boat

Discussion in 'Materials' started by bear43, Jan 3, 2012.

1. bear43

bear43 New Member

I am new to boating, but have a auto body back ground. My Uncle left me his 1982 Monark fish/ski boat. Problem is he had the deck and hull seperated. and I want to know can I re-attach the two by useing fiber glass cloth. and not attach the rub rail but make it look smooth.

2. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

Need pictures of what you have!, both bits hull and deck!!. . Usually just two types clip over deck onto hull pop rivited is best or one sits ontop of the other with a flang that sticks out ! and then a belting slideds over the top . Either is best if its sanded and when all is fitted together escurely glassed in place to keep the drippy stuff out . can do what you want once its glassed ! glass lay up100mm wide glass ! csm 450+800 gram double bias +450 csm and when hard and finished brush a generous extra coat of catalysed resin over the top of the glass to seal from any sorts of leaks
    The clip over deck is harder to glass the inside and is also harder to get the belting to sit nicely . The flang sticking out is easier to glass on the inside and easy to fit a belting to ,just make sure the rivits have had there under side lumps ground off or the lumps can cause a bump in the belting . :post some pictures so we can see what ya got !!!!. is best to glass the deck as its where a lot of pulling takes place with ski pole leaning against the back or cleats get tied to all part of the deck ,make sure always you sand well where the glass will be getting stuck to to get a good bond !!

3. Yobarnacle

Yobarnacle Senior Member holding true course