Raytheon rn300 gps chartplotter says :no fix

Discussion in 'OnBoard Electronics & Controls' started by edave50, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. edave50
    Joined: Nov 2012
    Posts: 5
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Nanaimo,BC Canada

    edave50 Junior Member

    Hello,I have a raytheon rn300 gps chartplotter that I got on ebay..When I hooked It up with the garmin 3ft.magnetic antenna that came with it all it said was "no fix"..Next I tried my own no-name mushroom antenna,still no fix..I have looked at other raymarine antennas but they all have several wires where the rn300 only excepts 2 wire(tv type)coax antennas..Is there anyone out there in the boating world that can help me??Is there other brand antenna that will work??PLEASE...Ahhhhh....:confused:
    thanks,
    edave
     
  2. michael pierzga
    Joined: Dec 2008
    Posts: 4,862
    Likes: 114, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1180
    Location: spain

    michael pierzga Senior Member

    Get the users manual. Chartplotters are simple, plug and play. The GPS info from an external ant is normally delivered in NMEA format.

    The GPS needs power. Does your Plotter supply power to the gps or does it need its own power supply. Some Plotters need to be set up to recognize the incoming NMEA sentence from the GPS. Normally via a menu in the chartplotter that allows you to choose.

    All this info will be in the Operators manual of your Plotter and GPS input. Should be easy to review and get your unit up and running.
     
  3. CDK
    Joined: Aug 2007
    Posts: 3,324
    Likes: 145, Points: 63, Legacy Rep: 1819
    Location: Adriatic sea

    CDK retired engineer

    If it only has a coaxial socket, the receiver is internal and the antenna is passive. Other models have the gps receiver in the antenna, they are connected with a 4-wire cable.

    With just a 2 inch piece of wire in the BNC socket, the device should work when taken outside. If it doesn't, the internal gps receiver is dead and must be replaced by a qualified Raymarine service technician.
     
  4. edave50
    Joined: Nov 2012
    Posts: 5
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Nanaimo,BC Canada

    edave50 Junior Member

    Thanks guys,you have both been helpful..The rn300 unit that I have has a passive antenna so I will try taking it off the boat and try it in my truck..If it doesn't get a fix then it must be the internal and I'll have to replace the receiver...
    Thanks again,
    edave
     

  5. michael pierzga
    Joined: Dec 2008
    Posts: 4,862
    Likes: 114, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1180
    Location: spain

    michael pierzga Senior Member

    Just bring your plotter to a mate who has a working gps. MNEA gps data is transmitted thru two wire .... plus and neg . Easy.
     
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.